The History Trail tab displays all changes to a task since its
creation. This is useful to pinpoint the date and user who made each
modification and eliminate confusion and conflicts related to unexpected
This window has 2 parts: a title
bar and the navigation tabs.
title bar tells you where you are in AceProject. At the end of the title bar you will find
links to the contextual help, to add a new task, to open or
close a time counter, to move/copy a task, and to a printer-friendly version of the page.
- The Task tab shows your tasks' data.
Information is organized in six groups: General, Assignment,
Project, Progress, Configuration, Dates, and Review.
- The Assignment tab
shows which users are assigned or reviewers on the task.
- The File Attachments
tab shows all files attached to this task. Attachments can be documents, screen captures or any other file format. Click on the
this tab to visualize all files attached or upload a new file to this task.
- The Dependencies tab displays all relationships between this
task and other project tasks.
- The History Trail tab displays all changes to your task since
- The History Trail function must be enabled at the project
level. If it is disabled, only changes to the assigned user's and
review's comment fields will be displayed in this tab.
- By default, changes are in reverse chronological order, meaning the
most recent change is at the top of the list.
- You can sort the changes by clicking on the column headers.
- The Date column displays when the change was made.
- The User column displays the name of the user who made the change.
- The Modification column describes the change.
- A modification can be an action: adding or deleting a file,
changing assigned users or reviewers, or moving the task to another
- A modification can be a change to any field in the form located in
the Task tab.
- The Old Value and New Value columns display the change that was
- You can limit the amount of text in these columns by checking the
Display only the first 250 characters in Old Value and New Value
columns checkbox. This does not remove data from the history. It
only affects what is displayed on the page.
- When making changes to the Details field, only the last 3 changes*
will keep the field's text in the Old Value and New Value columns.
Older changes will have their text removed to optimize the History
Trail's file size.
* This value can be changed by the AceProject support team.
- When a task is moved to another project, its history trail is also
moved. However, if the History Trail is disabled in the new projects, the
subsequent changes will not be recorded in this tab.
- When a task is copied to another project, its history trail is not
copied. The copied task becomes a new task in the destination project.
- When copying a project and its tasks, the tasks' History Trail is
not transferred to the new project.
Why are some changes missing from the list?
When the History Trail is disabled, changes are not recorded in the
History Trail tab. Hence, if History Trail is disabled and later enabled
again, there will be a "hole" in your History Trail.
Why is only the Comment Thread displayed in the History Trail?
The History Trail function must be enabled at the project level. If
it is disabled, only changes to the assigned user's and review's comment
fields will be displayed in this tab.