Contextual Help - Move/Copy a Task
The Move/Copy a Task window lets you move or copy a task from one project to another. Moving a task is a useful feature that lets you take a task from one project and transfer it to another project, without losing parameters, comments, file attachments or user assignments. Copying a task lets you copy a whole task to another project or within the same project.

This window has 3 parts: the title bar, the Step 1 of 2 and the Step 2 of 2 tabs

  • The title bar tells you where you are in AceProject. At the end of the title bar you will find the link to contextual help.  
  • In the Step 1 of 2 tab, there a 3 sub-steps to follow:
     
    • Select which operation to execute:
      • "Move this task to another project" will cut the task from project A and paste it in project B.
      • "Copy this task to another project" will duplicate the task from project A into project B.
      • "Copy this task within the same project" will duplicate the task from project A into project A.
         
    • Select the destination project: (This sub-step is disabled if you copy a task within the same project).
      • Use the drop down list to select which project you wish to move/copy the task to.
         
    • Check which item(s) to copy: (This sub-step is disabled if you move a task).
      • Check the "Comment thread" box if you wish to copy all assigned and reviewer comments related to the task.
      • Check the "File attachments" box if you wish to copy all files that may have been attached to the task.
      • Check the "User assignments" box if you wish to keep the same users assigned to the task. Note that if you leave this box unchecked, the task will be unassigned.
    • Click the "Go to Step 2" button to continue to step 2. Click "Back" to return to the task without moving or copying it.
  • The Step 2 of 2 tab displays the current parameters on the left, and the new parameters on the right for the task you are about to move or copy.
    • There are 5 required fields : Task Number, Status, Group, Type, and Priority.
    • If the task's number already exists in the destination project, AceProject will recommend you the next task number available automatically.
    • You must choose start and end dates that fit within the destination project's start and end dates.
    • Whenever the task's status, group, type or priority is also present in the destination project, they will be selected. If not, the fields will be left blank.
    • When moving or copying a task to a destination project, assignments will remain as they were in the source project, as long as the users are also assigned to the destination project. For example, if users ABC and XYZ were assigned to the source project, their assignments will remain the same in the destination project. 
    • Click "Move this task" or "Copy this task"  to complete the operation.
    • Click "Cancel" to return to the task without moving or copying it.
       

What is the impact of moving or copying a task? 

  • The statistics for both the source and destination projects will be recomputed.
  • File attachments will be moved/copied with the task.
  • The task's History Trail will be moved/copied with the task.
  • All work items or time sheets associated with the task will also be moved or copied to the destination project.
     

What happens to my task dependencies if I move/copy a task?
If you move/copy a task, the dependencies will not be moved/copied. If you copy a task, the original task's dependencies will remain intact.

 


Copyright 2001-2006 Websystems, Inc. All Rights Reserved.