Contextual Help - Work Items View (Time Sheets Approval)

The Work Items View window displays all work items for all weeks for all projects. By default, only work items with the submitted status will be shown. Use the search bar to display more work items. 

This window has 5 parts: the title bar, navigation tabs, the search bar, the work items table, and the approval bar

  • The title bar tells you where you are in AceProject. At the end of the title bar you will find a link to contextual help. The title bar will also displays your total number of work items corresponding to your criteria. 
  • The Navigation Tabs help you toggle between the "Weekly View" and the "Work Items" View.
    • The Weekly View shows you each user's time, week by week. If a user has several work items for one week, it will be specified in the "Work Items" column. This is useful to save time on work item approval: you can approve a whole week without having to approve each item independently.
    • The Work Items View shows each work item separately. This is helpful to gain a detailed understanding of a user's work for that project. You can then approve or reject each work item individually.
  • The search bar lets you select which work items to display, much like a filter. Simply choose the approval status, project type, project, users and/or week, then click Apply Filter. You may select more than one filter at once.
  • The Work Items table displays all work items for the project with some data about them. 
    • Click on the task number to open the referred task. 
      • If there is a file icon next to the task summary (), this means there are file(s) attached to the task. Click on the file number to open the task's file attachment tab.
    • Check the work items you want their status to be changed, then choose "approved" or "rejected" in the drop-down menu. Click "Apply" to confirm the change. 
    • If you have the proper access rights, you can change another user's hours by clicking an item's status.
    • If the user has entered comments about this work item, you can see it by positioning your mouse pointer over the Note icon:
    • By default this window will show all pending work items for all users, with the most recent ones at the top of the list. 
    • You can sort the table by clicking on underlined column headers: click once to sort in ascending order and twice to sort in descending order. 
    • Once a work item is approved, the user can only access it in read-only mode. 
  • The Approval bar lets you change the approval status of one or several selected items.
    • Check the items to change.
    • Choose the new status in the drop-down list.
    • Write a custom message if necessary.
    • Check the "Send email notification" checkbox to notify the user by email. The message will contain information about the approved or rejected items, as well as the custom message.
    • Click "Apply".  
    • When work items change status, the system re-computes de related task' actual hours figure. Actual hours corresponds to the number of hours filled in the time sheets for a specific task. This only includes time sheet items with in progress, submitted and approved status. Rejected time is not included in the computation.
     

What is this page for?
The Work Items Approval page is used by project managers to approve or reject time entered by users for their project. 

What is the difference between approval statuses?
Time sheets can be In progress, Submitted, Approved or Rejected: 

  • In Progress means it is not submitted it for approval. 
  • Submitted means the time sheet has not been approved or rejected, it is waiting to be processed.
  • Approved means the time sheet has been accepted. 
  • Rejected means the hours were not accepted. 

 Who can approve my time sheets or work items?
Administrators, project managers and users with time approval access can approve or reject work items for a project. 

How do I approve only a user's time sheets?
To approve a user's time sheets more efficiently, you can filter all time sheets to display only those of this specific user. To do so, in the search bar, select the user's name, then click
"Apply Filter". The "Work Items View" window will display only this user's work items. Check the items you want their status to be changed, select their new status on the drop-down menu and click "apply".

How do I delete a work item?
Project managers, administrators and time approval users cannot delete work items. Only the user who has created the work item can delete it from his/her time sheet. To delete the work item, the user has to open it in his/her time sheet by clicking on the
"My Office" tab, then on the "My Time Sheets" on the left panel.

 

 


Copyright 2001-2006 Websystems, Inc. All Rights Reserved.