Contextual Help - User Groups (Configuration)
The User Groups tab displays all configured user groups with their order of appearance and description. User Groups help keep users together, for example as teams or departments.

This window has 3 parts: the title bar, the tabs and the information table. 

  • The title bar tells you where you are in AceProject. At the end of the title bar you will find a link to add a new project type, as well as access to contextual help. The tab title will also display your total number of user groups. 
  • The Account Info tab displays all the data about your company and is mainly used to set the time zone, time management and corporate contact information.
  • The Time Types tab permits adding and editing work hour classifications such as holidays, vacation or overtime.
  • The Project Types tab displays all configured project types with their order of appearance and description. Project types are a way to categorize projects for easier management. For example, you could have documentation projects, development projects, debugging projects, and even engineering projects. 
  • The Project Priorities tab displays all configured project priorities with their order of appearance and description. Project priorities are a way to categorize projects for easier management. For example, you could have urgent, high, normal and low priorities. 
  • The Clients tab displays all configured clients and permits adding more to the list. These clients can then be associated to projects.
  • The User Groups tab displays all configured groups and permits adding more to the list. Each user can be associated to a user group. User Groups help keep users together, for example as teams or departments.
    • Click on a user group name to make changes or delete it. 
    • User groups are used when creating users.
    • You can choose to reset the order of your groups alphabetically. For example:

      Original:
      Software development 1
      Graphic design  2
      Construction 3

      User groups set to alphabetical order:
      Construction 1
      Graphic design 2
      Software development 3
       
  • Only administrators may make changes to this page. Click [Update] to save your changes.

What is a user group?
User Groups help keep users together, for example as teams or departments. 

How do I add a user group?
To add a new user group, click on the [Add a User Group] link to the right of the title bar. You will be redirected to the Edit User Group Information page. Simply fill out the form and click [Save]. 

How do I change a user group?
To make changes to a user group, simply click on its name to reach the Edit User Group Information page. Make your changes, then click on [Update] to save your changes. Click on [Back to User Group] to leave this page without saving your changes. 

How do I delete a user group?
To make changes to a user group, simply click on its name to reach the Edit User Group Information page, then click on [Delete]. You cannot delete a user group that still has projects associated to it. You must first remove these associations, then delete your user group.


Copyright 2001-2006 Websystems, Inc. All Rights Reserved.