Contextual Help - User Workload Report

The User Workload Report window shows a table detailing the workload of each user, that is the number of hours that need to be done each day.

This window has 3 parts: the title bar, the parameter selection zone and the workload table itself. 

  • The title bar tells you where you are in AceProject.
    • At the end of the title bar you will find the link to contextual help.
  • The parameter selection zone lets you select which users to display, how to compute hours and which tasks to compute the workload from. Simply choose your parameters click Apply Filter
    • "Report calculated..." is the first parameter to choose. You can choose to compute workload from the estimated time or from the actual time already worked on the task. AceProject uses the %done parameter and computes how many hours remain to be done, for each task. Then, the system divides the hours equally among the number of days left to complete the task. Finally, AceProject adds all the hours assigned to the user for the day and produces the user's total workload for the day.
    • Check the "Divide Between Assigned Users" box to split estimated hours between assigned users equally.
    • "Number of weeks" lets you choose how many weeks to display in the table.
    • Check the "Include Weekends" box to include Saturdays and Sundays as workdays where time will be assigned.
    • The "All Users" and "All User Groups" drop-down boxes let you choose which users to display in the table.
    • The "All Projects", "All Project Types" and "All Clients" drop-down boxes let you choose which tasks to use in the calculation of the workload. However, these filters are mutually exclusive. For example, if you choose a project and a client who is not associated with the chosen project, you will have no record for this report.
  • By default, the Workload Table shows all hours for all projects for the next three weeks from the current date.  AceProject uses the %done parameter and computes how many hours remain to be done, for each task. Then, the system divides the hours equally among the number of days left to complete the task. Finally, AceProject adds all the hours assigned to the user for the day and produces the user's total workload for the day.

    • Each user's hours are displayed each day. The total will vary depending on the parameters selected.
    • If a task is spread over several days, its hours will be distributed equally over the days allocated to complete the task.
    • If there is only one day left to complete the task, all the remaining hours will be assigned on one day.
    • If a task's end date is in the past and it is still not completed, its remaining hours will be displayed in the Overdue Hours column.
    • Click on the Username column to sort it: click once to sort in ascending order and twice to sort in descending order.  

 

What is Workload?
In AceProject, workload is the number of work hours assigned to each user, distributed among the days remaining to complete the work. For example, if it is estimated that 20 hours will be required to complete a task and that there are 5 days left to do it, AceProject will assign 4 hours of work on each day. Each task's hours are computed this way, and added to make a daily total for each user. In this way it is easy for managers to know if someone has too many tasks assigned, or if someone is under worked.

I have no record in my report! What's wrong?
Remember that the filters at the top of the table are mutually exclusive. This means that if your project is not associated to the client you have chosen, there will be no record in the report. Also, if you choose a project and a project type, make sure the project is of the type selected.

All the hours to do on a task are on the same day. Why?
If there is only one day left to complete the task, AceProject will assign them all to that day.

What are Overdue Hours?
Overdue Hours are hours that were assigned to a task which has expired, that it its due date is past. Hence the task is overdue and so are the hours remaining to be worked on it.

What is the "Divide Between Assigned Users" checkbox?
This option can be used to split estimated hours between assigned users equally.

 


Copyright 2001-2006 Websystems, Inc. All Rights Reserved.